Custom Keywords

continued...
Thu, 2012-01-12 17:18
Tarvoc
Tarvoc's picture

@ hooliganj: Reflex is not identical to First Strike. Suppose a 2/2 creature with Reflex blocks or is blocked by a 2/2 creature without any abilities (say, Grizzly Bears). Both creatures deal their combat damage at the same time.

Reflex is essentially a defense against First Strike, since it nullifies a First Striker's advantage.

My colors: Freedom (Red mana symbol) through Knowledge (Blue mana symbol) and Organization (White mana symbol).

Thu, 2012-01-12 17:19
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

hooliganj)
Ambush) There's no need for this to be a keyword, is all I'm saying (partially because there needs to be a compelling flavor or mechanical justification to have one keyword reference another. Reach needs to reference flying since it allows the card it's on to block flying, and Unearth needs to reference Haste because without it, Unearth is near-useless).

Reload) In practice, an instant-speed reload will be extremely niche compared to a sorcery-speed one since, outside of sets that deal heavily with the 'yard (Odyssey and Innistrad come to mind) there's no reason to have an instant-speed reload.

Tactics) No, because (1) in M10+ rulesets combat damage is atomic (once it starts being dealt, nothing can interrupt it) and (2) in ALR- rulesets the response would be the aforementioned kill spell (as combat damage uses the stack like everything else; first strike damage just gets put on the stack second). Thus, the keyword will not function as intended unless you're doing the smart thing and ignoring the Magic 2010-and-later rulesets.
Wording-wise:

Quote:
Tactics (If this creature is attacking, you may remove it from combat before damage is dealt.)

I will add Guts, Influence, Mobility, and Stealth to the keywords listing.

Tarvoc & people en generale) Why are we still arguing over Throat Wolf? :/

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Thu, 2012-01-12 17:27
Tarvoc
Tarvoc's picture

I can't see what Reflex has to do with Throat Wolf. Reflex has nothing to do with a "Firstest Strike", at least not if that is supposed to refer to a better First Strike. It also doesn't add a third combat damage phase or something like that.

My colors: Freedom (Red mana symbol) through Knowledge (Blue mana symbol) and Organization (White mana symbol).

Thu, 2012-01-12 17:41
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

hooliganj) I took a look at my Stealth wording and tweaked it again:

Quote:
Stealth (0 mana symbol: Remove target creature blocking this one from combat. Activate this ability only once per turn.)

This seems to fit more with what Stealth appears to be (activated ability).

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Thu, 2012-01-12 18:52
hooliganj
hooliganj's picture

@Tarvoc - Ok. I get it.

@Jéské Couriano -

  • Ambush - I agree that under Magic rules there isn't really a need for this to be a keyword. It's only included as part of the exercise.
  • Reload - I don't understand your argument. You can cast an instant at any time you could cast a sorcery, so making the effect instant can only broaden the niche, rather than narrow it. The point is that it needs to be able to activate on an opponent's turn or during the combat phase, depending on the conditions listed on the card. For example (I'll pick something that might fit the Space setting):

    Chaff Missile 1 mana symbolWhite mana symbol
    Instant Common
    When an opponent attacks with more than one creature, you may reload.
    Prevent all damage dealt by target attacking creature.

  • Tactics - Ok. I read through the combat damage timing, and you can't interrupt the damage between first strike and regular damage. So this ability would have to be activated before the end of the declare blockers step to be valid. There's no point in arguing that a creature using tactics would just be killed by a spell, because that same spell could have killed the creature anyway. That's true of every ability except the shrouds, so it's not really pertinent. Tactics is a weak ability with some tactical uses, especially when combined with other abilities, and that won't change in Magic. I like the rewording, thanks.

So, my final list (probably):

Spoiler:
Ambush (While attacking this creature deals damage at the same time as a creature with first strike.)
Guts (You may have this creature assign its combat damage as though it weren't blocked.)
Influence {num} (Tap symbol: Target creature with converted mana cost {num} or less can't block this turn.)
Mobility (This creature can block while tapped.)
Reload (Return this card from your graveyard to the top of your library.) - action word.
Stealth (0 mana symbol: Remove target creature blocking this one from combat. Activate this ability only once per turn.)
Tactics (If this creature is attacking, you may remove it from combat before damage is dealt.)

edit: Good point about stealth. I added your tweak.

De Chelonian Mobile.
My Shadowfist sets.
The Usagi Yojimbo CCG.

Thu, 2012-01-12 22:23
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

hooliganj)

Reload) My point is thus: An instant-speed reload is, in virtually all circumstances, as good as a sorcery-speed reload. To take full advantage, one would need an instant-speed draw effect (most of which entail an additional cost (such as cycling) or require targets as they are cantrips) that they could get off reliably and that won't come back to bite them. Not to mention the mana cost of casting these spells are more likely than not unjustifiable as it generally means you can't take advantage of the card you would draw in any case.

Thus, instant-speed reload is niche because there are extremely few circumstances where the speed is relevant, and this is compounded by requiring an additional card or ability that also fires at instant speed and the mana cost, plus any miscellaneous ones, for said spell/ability.

Tactics) My argument here is more about the stack than anything else. The only time I could see Tactics being useful is as a "kill attacker" counter, and even then that's apt to backfire since your opponent will simply block you with a deathtouch, slowtouch, or beatstick and then fire that spell off in response to you activating Tactics. There's little use for Tactics, especially in a more competitive environment, since it's far too easily countered. Conversely, Stealth has far more uses, mainly to save an attacking creature by removing one of its blockers or remove a single blocker to take life away from your opponent.

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Thu, 2012-01-12 22:21
Timespiraled
Timespiraled's picture

@Jeske Jeske, I have a question for you, were you born this amazing?

Something powered this way comes.

Thu, 2012-01-12 22:29
Noahlotr
Noahlotr's picture

Ak-warrrrrd!

Thu, 2012-01-12 23:02
hooliganj
hooliganj's picture

@Jéské Couriano -

  • Reload - Your primary concern, then, is that the reloaded card is guaranteed to be your next draw, and might take the place of a better draw. This is a valid concern, especially in a slow-drawing game like Magic. However, Reload effects are almost always optional (almost), so you can decide which draw to take, and you can always combine Reload cards with card draw spells to skirt the issue. Also, to some decks the ability to redraw certain cards would be a boon, and the effect could be used to stave off a milling strategy.

    In the end, unless you know another way to allow Reload to trigger during an opponent's turn or during the combat step, then I can't change it.

  • Tactics - The same Lightning Bolt that kills a 1/1 with tactics can just as easily kill a 1/1 with first strike, or a 3/3 with trample. Weakness to damage/kill spells can't be used as a measuring stick.

    As I said above, I agree about the relative weakness of the ability. Even in Shadowfist, I will take a Character with Stealth over an equally powered Character with Tactics every time. In fact, the Stealth Character can be several points weaker and still be the favorite. But even you admitted that there is a time when Tactics could be useful. That's all any good Johnny needs to build a deck that makes that situation happen.

I'm happy to agree to disagree over these couple of points. As far as my exercise goes I can consider the conversion complete, and if you like some of them enough to add to the list, then I'm glad. Thanks for the help.

De Chelonian Mobile.
My Shadowfist sets.
The Usagi Yojimbo CCG.

Fri, 2012-01-13 00:11
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

hooliganj) No, that's not my concern. Reread what I wrote; my concern is that, to use it effectively at instant speed (such as, say, needing to kill off an enemy's Avatar of Hope), one needs to dedicate lots of resources to it since draw effects (even cantrips) tend to come with preconditions at instant speed, and rarely are such effects worth the price.

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Fri, 2012-01-13 00:57
hooliganj
hooliganj's picture

If that were the design goal, then the effect would just put the card back in your hand. It's more about setting up the next turn.

De Chelonian Mobile.
My Shadowfist sets.
The Usagi Yojimbo CCG.

Fri, 2012-01-13 14:53
Timespiraled
Timespiraled's picture

@Jeske While you two are still at it here's one from my new set.

Hue (pseudo) "If the last spell/As long as the last spell cast was <color>, <foo>"

For abilities that can only be activated with hue: "Activate this ability only if the last spell cast was <color>."

Hue can appear on every single card type (hell it could go on planswalkers I guess.) The effect/abilities can literally be anything except only active/usable when the last spell cast is that color.

As for creatures, I wanted to make sure of something with you first. Once the creature is on the battlefield, it sees the last spell cast as itself. Therefore, how would I word ETB effects so they trigger on the previous spell?

Would "When you cast <cardname>, <foo>" or "As <cardname> enters the battlefield, <foo>"?

Which one would work, and which would be better?

Something powered this way comes.

Fri, 2012-01-13 15:29
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

Cinematt) Neither would, as the act of casting the spell takes place when the spell hits the stack, let alone (in the case of permanents) entering the battlefield. Hue is thus ineffective as an ETB trigger on creatures, 'walkers, enchantments, and artifacts. (Lands aren't cast and so ETB Hue triggers would work on them.)

By the time the hue effect would trigger, the spell has already been cast, and thus it will only see its own colors.

Quoted below is Rule 601.2 (the relevant section of the rulebook) in its entirety.

Magic comprehensive rules wrote:
601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect. Casting a spell follows the steps listed below, in order. If, at any point during the casting of a spell, a player is unable to comply with any of the steps listed below, the casting of the spell is illegal; the game returns to the moment before that spell started to be cast (see rule 717, "Handling Illegal Actions"). Announcements and payments can't be altered after they've been made.

601.2a The player announces that he or she is casting the spell. That card (or that copy of a card) moves from where it is to the stack. It becomes the topmost object on the stack. It has all the characteristics of the card (or the copy of a card) associated with it, and that player becomes its controller. The spell remains on the stack until it's countered, it resolves, or an effect moves it elsewhere.

601.2b If the spell is modal the player announces the mode choice (see rule 700.2). If the player wishes to splice any cards onto the spell (see rule 702.45), he or she reveals those cards in his or her hand. If the spell has alternative or additional costs that will be paid as it's being cast such as buyback, kicker, or convoke costs (see rules 117.8 and 117.9), the player announces his or her intentions to pay any or all of those costs (see rule 601.2e). A player can't apply two alternative methods of casting or two alternative costs to a single spell. If the spell has a variable cost that will be paid as it's being cast (such as an X mana symbol in its mana cost; see rule 107.3), the player announces the value of that variable. If a cost that will be paid as the spell is being cast includes hybrid mana symbols, the player announces the nonhybrid equivalent cost he or she intends to pay. If a cost that will be paid as the spell is being cast includes Phyrexian mana symbols, the player announces whether he or she intends to pay 2 life or the corresponding colored mana cost for each of those symbols. Previously made choices (such as choosing to cast a spell with flashback from a graveyard or choosing to cast a creature with morph face down) may restrict the player's options when making these choices.

601.2c The player announces his or her choice of an appropriate player, object, or zone for each target the spell requires. A spell may require some targets only if an alternative or additional cost (such as a buyback or kicker cost), or a particular mode, was chosen for it; otherwise, the spell is cast as though it did not require those targets. If the spell has a variable number of targets, the player announces how many targets he or she will choose before he or she announces those targets. The same target can't be chosen multiple times for any one instance of the word "target" on the spell. However, if the spell uses the word "target" in multiple places, the same object, player, or zone can be chosen once for each instance of the word "target" (as long as it fits the targeting criteria). If any effects say that an object or player must be chosen as a target, the player chooses targets so that he or she obeys the maximum possible number of such effects without violating any rules or effects that say that an object or player can't be chosen as a target. The chosen players, objects, and/or zones each become a target of that spell. (Any abilities that trigger when those players, objects, and/or zones become the target of a spell trigger at this point; they'll wait to be put on the stack until the spell has finished being cast.)
Example: If a spell says "Tap two target creatures," then the same creature can't be chosen twice; the spell requires two different legal targets. A spell that says "Destroy target artifact and target land," however, can target the same artifact land twice because it uses the word "target" in multiple places.

601.2d If the spell requires the player to divide or distribute an effect (such as damage or counters) among one or more targets, the player announces the division. Each of these targets must receive at least one of whatever is being divided.

601.2e The player determines the total cost of the spell. Usually this is just the mana cost. Some spells have additional or alternative costs. Some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay, or may provide other alternative costs. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost or alternative cost (as determined in rule 601.2b), plus all additional costs and cost increases, and minus all cost reductions. If the mana component of the total cost is reduced to nothing by cost reduction effects, it is considered to be 0 mana symbol. It can't be reduced to less than 0 mana symbol. Once the total cost is determined, any effects that directly affect the total cost are applied. Then the resulting total cost becomes "locked in." If effects would change the total cost after this time, they have no effect.

601.2f If the total cost includes a mana payment, the player then has a chance to activate mana abilities (see rule 605, "Mana Abilities"). Mana abilities must be activated before costs are paid.

601.2g The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed. Unpayable costs can't be paid.
Example: You cast Altar's Reap, which costs 1 mana symbolBlack mana symbol and has an additional cost of sacrificing a creature. You sacrifice Thunderscape Familiar, whose effect makes your black spells cost 1 mana symbol less to cast. Because a spell's total cost is "locked in" before payments are actually made, you pay Black mana symbol, not 1 mana symbol:symB;, even though you're sacrificing the Familiar.

601.2h Once the steps described in 601.2a-g are completed, the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. If the spell's controller had priority before casting it, he or she gets priority.

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Fri, 2012-01-13 16:45
hooliganj
hooliganj's picture

Is there any reason it couldn't be "the last spell cast before this one"?

De Chelonian Mobile.
My Shadowfist sets.
The Usagi Yojimbo CCG.

Fri, 2012-01-13 16:56
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

hooliganj) He would have to word it thus, i.e. "If the spell cast before ~ was of a specific color, <effect>."

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Mon, 2012-01-16 16:27
Noahlotr
Noahlotr's picture

Reserve <Cost> (<Cost>: exile this card from your hand. You may cast it from exile for <Cost>.)

The cost would be less than the card's mana cost but you end up paying more in the end after both payments.

Mon, 2012-01-16 17:21
Timespiraled
Timespiraled's picture

@Noahlotr Sounds pretty neat, I love effects like Reserve and Suspend which give you the chance to get stuff out with less mana. (By that I mean, if you're stuck at 2 mana you could still use Reserve if the cost was 2 as well)

Something powered this way comes.

Mon, 2012-01-16 18:18
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

Noahlotr) Reserve is just a more expansive and expensive Madness. I like it, though.

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Mon, 2012-01-16 18:53
Noahlotr
Noahlotr's picture

What do you mean by "expansive?"

Mon, 2012-01-16 18:58
Timespiraled
Timespiraled's picture

@Jeske I don't quite see the Madness part...

Something powered this way comes.

Mon, 2012-01-16 19:53
Carn13
Carn13's picture

Madness lets you cast a card when you discard it. Reserve lets you cast a card when it's exiled from your hand. See the similarity?

Mon, 2012-01-16 22:22
Tarvoc
Tarvoc's picture

The difference is that Reserve lets you exile the card from your hand yourself by paying a certain cost, and only then can it be cast from exile. But yeah, I also see a certain similarity.

My colors: Freedom (Red mana symbol) through Knowledge (Blue mana symbol) and Organization (White mana symbol).

Tue, 2012-01-17 00:03
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

Noah, cinematt, Carn, Tarvoc) Madness spells are cast from exile as well. Madness works thus: When a madness card is discarded, you may exile it, from where you have the option of casting it for its madness cost. If you do so, it goes on the stack. If you pass, it goes to the graveyard as normal. (This is why countering the Madness triggered ability results in an exiled card, not a card in the graveyard.)

Magic comprehensive rules wrote:
702.33a Madness is a keyword that represents two abilities. The first is a static ability that functions while the card with madness is in a player's hand. The second is a triggered ability that functions when the first ability is applied. "Madness [cost]" means "If a player would discard this card, that player discards it, but may exile it instead of putting it into his or her graveyard" and "When this card is exiled this way, its owner may cast it by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost. If that player doesn't, he or she puts this card into his or her graveyard."

702.33b Casting a spell using its madness ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2e-g.

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Tue, 2012-01-17 00:28
Tarvoc
Tarvoc's picture

I know that Madness spells are cast from exile. What I was saying is that Reserve doesn't need an "external" Discard effect.

My colors: Freedom (Red mana symbol) through Knowledge (Blue mana symbol) and Organization (White mana symbol).

Tue, 2012-01-17 01:26
Timespiraled
Timespiraled's picture

@Jeske Ah, didn't remember that Madness cards go temporarily to exile. My bad on that one.

Something powered this way comes.

Mon, 2012-01-23 06:41
Tarvoc
Tarvoc's picture

Release (When this dies, put a 1/1 white Spirit creature token with flying into play.)

My colors: Freedom (Red mana symbol) through Knowledge (Blue mana symbol) and Organization (White mana symbol).

Mon, 2012-01-23 06:44
Timespiraled
Timespiraled's picture

@Tarvoc Yay, we can reword a lot of Innistrad cards But I like it. It's simple.

Something powered this way comes.

Mon, 2012-01-23 07:54
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

I would actually name this ability "Afterlife".

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Mon, 2012-01-23 10:19
Kagerowrs

Several Keyword I have.

Sync <name> (As you cast this spell, reveal top card of your library, if that card is <name>, you may exile that card to copy this spell and repeat this process. If you don’t, put that card on bottom of your library.)

<prefix>circle (When you resolve this spell, You may discard <prefix> cards, if you do. copy it for each card discarded this way.)

Teaming (When a creature battles, You may tap this creature to give power and toughness to that creature equal to power and toughness of this creature.)

Uplinked (When this spell is casted, Each player gets copy of this spell without this ability. Players may choose new target for the copy.)

Vengence <name> (For each <name> creature you control died or exiled this turn, this creature cost 2 less to play.)

Fri, 2012-02-03 00:25
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

Kagerowrs)

Sync)

Quote:
Sync <foo> (As you cast this spell, reveal the top card of your library. If its name is <foo>, you may exile that card to copy this spell and repeat this process. If you don't or it isn't, put all revealed cards onto the bottom of your library in any order.)

I would strike this as it's excessively verbose.

Typecircle)

Quote:
<foo>circle (When you cast this spell, you may discard any number of <foo> cards. Copy it for each card discarded this way.)

This should be treated as an additional cost to cast the spell, and I have worded it so. Please read Gatherer.

Teaming)

Quote:
Teaming (Tap symbol: Target attacking or blocking creature gets +X/+Y, where X is this creature's power and Y is this creature's toughness.)

Again, please peruse Gatherer - they will go far in fixing up your syntax.

Uplink)

Quote:
Uplink (When this spell is cast, each opponent copies it. They may choose new targets for the copy.)

USE GATHERER.

Vengence [sic])

Quote:
Vengeance <foo> (This spell costs 2 mana symbol less to cast for each <foo> creature you control that died or was exiled this turn.)

This is far too easily abusable - players are not averse to using their own creatures' lives as credit for spells if it will make them cheaper, especially with as high as the reduction is here. Strike it.

EDIT) I have a few more I want to run by you. Unlike most of the other sets, I know what I'm going to be setting it in (The Kingdom of Loathing) but I'm not sure what I want the set theme to be quite yet. What I've got are potential directions for the set, not absolutes.

Unstoppable (Damage dealt by this <type> can't be prevented.)

Aid—[Effect that only takes effect if you control a weaker creature, and targets such creatures]

Revenge <foo> (This creature deals <foo> damage after combat to each creature that blocked or was blocked by it this turn.)

Amelioration (If a spell deals damage to this creature, it instead deals half that damage, rounded up.)

Disorient <foo> (Creatures blocking or blocked by this one get -<foo>/-<foo> until end of turn.)

Bardsong— [effect] that hits all creatures (you control)

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Thu, 2012-02-02 23:52
Noahlotr
Noahlotr's picture

Three keywords from a set I'm making.

Tribal Equip:
<name> Equip <cost> (<cost>: Attach to target <name> creature you control. Equip only as a sorcery.)

Bond
<name>bond <number> (This creature gets +<number>/+<number> for each <name> you control.)

Cloak
<prefix>cloak (This creature can’t be blocked by <prefix> creatures.)

Fri, 2012-02-03 00:07
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

Noahlotr) IINM, tribal equip can be accomplished by giving the equipment prot-<foo>. IINM, "Enchanted/Equipped by" works in reverse - you can't attach equipment to creatures it's protected from.

Cloak is largely irrelevant and redundant, since Flying and Shadow do what it does more competently.

No comment on bond.

Any opinions on mine? I posted them to get feedback, not silent echoes.

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Fri, 2012-02-03 00:17
Noahlotr
Noahlotr's picture

Unstoppable: Seems fine, it appears on real things, but maybe doesn't need to be keyworded.
Aid: I really don't see anything wrong with it, psuedos really are dependent on their effect to see if they are too strong.
Revenge: May be really strong, but it probably depends on the number.
Amelioration: Land Damage FTW! Okay, actually I think it's worded wrong, it should have something about prevention. I'm not sure if it's too strong or not, probably is.
Disorient: Basically better flanking? Seems like it's not too strong, again depending on the number.
Bardsong: Same comment as with Aid.

Fri, 2012-02-03 00:26
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

Amelioration) Looking over my wording, I realized I botched it a bit. Rewording, and the ability does not affect damage dealt by abilities or creatures - only spells.

Disorient and Revenge) I intend neither ability's variable to exceed 2.

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Sat, 2012-02-04 03:15
Nerameshu
Nerameshu's picture

On Bardsong: This effect just hits all creatures you control? Could that not just be part of the spell or ability?

Tribal Equipment: I actually use this in a set I've recently started fresh on. It works well if the tribal equip cost is cheaper than the standard equip cost. At higher rarities and more powerful effects, I'm actually going to limit a cycle of cards to only having a tribal equip-- the idea of keeping it out of the "wrong" hands.

Other than that, I'm ok with all the recently proposed keywords. The only real issue I see is that Amelioration may confuse some people on pronunciation. And I've seen people not play powerful cards just because they don't know how to pronounce the coolest part of the card.

Mind Mages
One set in design. One Fantasy From the Vaults in Design.
Modding since 11-05-12

Sat, 2012-02-04 05:02
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

Nerameshu) Amelioration (ah-mee-lee-or-ray-shun) is pronounced as it's spelt.

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Sat, 2012-02-04 05:27
Nerameshu
Nerameshu's picture

I understand it. But because I was raised in a town of people who can barely say the town's name, I feel the need to point it out.

Mind Mages
One set in design. One Fantasy From the Vaults in Design.
Modding since 11-05-12

Sun, 2012-02-05 02:59
The Angel Of Elysium
The Angel Of Elysium's picture

Got a creature-specific one.

Contract <foo> - If this creature would die, regenerate it instead, and reduce its power and toughness to 0, then give it <foo> contract counters. Contract counters cannot be the target of a proliferation effect. If a creature has a proliferation counter, it cannot attack or block, and it cannot die. Remove a contract counter from any permanent with contract counters during your end step.

It's like a deal with the devil. The creature lives, but you have to find a way to increase its toughness in <foo> turns.

Context:

Spoiler:

Sun, 2012-02-05 04:04
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

Contract locks the game in an infinite loop as written. A creature with 0 toughness automatically goes to the graveyard as a state-based effect. Prevent it from doing that and the game will keep trying.

Magic Comprehensive Rules wrote:
704.3. Whenever a player would get priority (see rule 116, "Timing and Priority"), the game checks for any of the listed conditions for state-based actions, then performs all applicable state-based actions simultaneously as a single event. If any state-based actions are performed as a result of a check, the check is repeated; otherwise all triggered abilities that are waiting to be put on the stack are put on the stack, then the check is repeated. Once no more state-based actions have been performed as the result of a check and no triggered abilities are waiting to be put on the stack, the appropriate player gets priority. This process also occurs during the cleanup step (see rule 514), except that if no state-based actions are performed as the result of the step's first check and no triggered abilities are waiting to be put on the stack, then no player gets priority and the step ends.

704.5f If a creature has toughness 0 or less, it's put into its owner's graveyard. Regeneration can't replace this event.

Also, all card renders with art need to have artist credit.

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Mon, 2012-02-06 04:03
Timespiraled
Timespiraled's picture

@The Angel of Elysium Either make them 0/1 or you're going to need some Toughness boosting powers like Muraganda Petroglyphs to stop the infinite loop.

@Jeske Here's a few for you, wanted to know if a) This is even possible and b) Wording, wording, balance, etc

Vanish: You may cast this spell for its vanish cost. If you do, it’s exiled when it enters the graveyard. (I'm 99% sure the last sentence is worded wrong. I want the instant or sorcery to be exiled after it is used.)

Beyond — cost: action: Activate this ability only if this card is exiled. Cards in the exile zone do not untap during the untap step. (This gives your exiled cards one final ability to use when exiled and then that's that. It's worded like Forecast)

Aetherstrike: This creature may attack from the exile zone. Cards in the exile zone do not untap during the untap step. (As Beyond but gives a single last attack.)

Essence: When this creature dies, exile it instead.

As you can tell, these four keywords are all based on the Exile zone and seeing what we can use it for, except the usual never want to see that card again.

Something powered this way comes.

Mon, 2012-02-06 04:27
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

Vanish) This is possible (see Yawgmoth's Will) and would be worded thus:

Quote:
Vanish <foo> (You may cast this spell for its vanish cost. If you do, exile it when it resolves.)

Essence operates on identical principles to the above.

Beyond) Not possible. A card can only be tapped or untapped on the battlefield.

Magic Comprehensive Rules wrote:
110.6. A permanent's status is its physical state. There are four status categories, each of which has two possible values: tapped/untapped, flipped/unflipped, face up/face down, and phased in/phased out. Each permanent always has one of these values for each of these categories.

Likewise, Ætherstrike is impossible because permanents are only permanents on the battlefield. Anywhere else they're just cards and thus can't be (un)tapped.

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Mon, 2012-02-06 04:34
Inanimate
Inanimate's picture

If Vanish is on a creature, you'd say "exile it if would leave the battlefield", like Unearth.

Also known as Inanimate at Goblin Artisans, TurboJustice at MTGS, and TyrRev at /r/custommagic

Mon, 2012-02-06 04:45
Timespiraled
Timespiraled's picture

@Jeske Thanks, wasn't even sure if some of those were possible and thanks for wording the other two ^^

Something powered this way comes.

Mon, 2012-02-06 04:46
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

Inanimate) No, because Vanish is for spells. Essence is for creatures (at least that's my reading of it.)

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Mon, 2012-02-06 04:54
Timespiraled
Timespiraled's picture

@Jeske Yup, Vanish is spells/Essence is for creatures. I wasn't sure if a single wording could fit both.

Something powered this way comes.

Mon, 2012-02-06 04:57
Jéské Couriano
Jéské Couriano's picture

cinematt) A single wording won't fit both - Inanimate's wording fits Essence.

Ceterum censeo Bolasinem esse delendam.
Accepting new types for S:tC!
Custom Keywords!

Mon, 2012-02-06 14:34
Decembra
Decembra's picture

"Parenting # (When this creature dies you may pay its Parenting cost up to X times. If you do, put X tokens into play that are copies of this creature, then put X +1/+1 counters on those copies.)"
eg. Parenting 1 mana symbolGreen mana symbolGreen mana symbol

How I would like you to give feedback on my Keywords:

Spoiler:
Choose any combination of the following LETTERS to categorize your feedback:
Is this ability:
A. Worded correctly? (If not, how should I word it?)
B. Suitable for all rarities? (If not, why not?)
C. Bit of a lame name? (If so, suggest a new one please)
D. Custom Feedback (Essays welcome, not preferred, but welcome)

Mon, 2012-02-06 16:07
Timespiraled
Timespiraled's picture

@ Decembra
A) Wording is great.

B) Commons to Uncommons. This can be insane with powerful creatures coming back multiple times, with their copies also being able to come back (as they'll also have Parenting).

C) Parenting is ok, but I'm sure there is better. Genesis? Mitosis? Spawn?

D) I love the idea but I feel that it can be broken depending on the Parenting costs. Already the copies are powerful without putting +1/+1 counters on them. Perhaps remove that part of the ability.

Something powered this way comes.

Mon, 2012-02-06 17:43
Decembra
Decembra's picture

@cinematt - First off, thank you very much for the detailed feedback. This is all very useful.
A) Awesome! Big smile

B&D) "Commons to Uncommons" & "can be broken depending on the Parenting costs"
Here my intention was to use the abilities, the P/T and the Parenting cost of the "parent creature" to determine the rarity - hopefully without breaking it.
I have an example creature made, using this ability. Would you mind telling me if I've done the current Keyword justice without breaking it (yet)?:

Glowfly Breedbomber:

Spoiler:
Glowfly Breedbomber Green mana symbolGreen mana symbol
Creature - Insect M Mana for MTG Extra
Flying, Parenting 1GG (When this creature dies you may pay its Parenting cost up to X times. If you do, put X tokens into play that are copies of this creature, then put X +1/+1 counters on those copies.)

“Now, tell me what you see.”
“An explosion... wait — are those eggs?”
1/2


I made it as a Mythic rare for a Forum Game challenge, but upon reflection I feel it's more at a Rare level.

C) Hmmm, I do like Genesis and Spawn... You're right, there's definitely better.

Mon, 2012-02-06 18:18
Timespiraled
Timespiraled's picture

@ Decembra Ok, that sort of rare/mythic is fine too. I'm just afraid of having the one big bomb creature turn into multiple bomb creatures WITH extra +1/+1 counters. I guess you could also go the INN/DKA Flashback cost way and make them much higher. As well, anything with an Enter the Battlefield ability can go nuts with this ability as well.

Something powered this way comes.