Ability Feedback?

Login or register to post comments
Fri, 2008-09-26 04:22
irmenotu
irmenotu's picture

Not sure if this is the right spot for this, but couldn't find a good one since I'm not actually posting cards for critique, just abilities. In the set Im desiging I currently have three abilites that Im adding and I was hoping to get some feedback. Here goes:

Charity (If you have two or less life you may play this card without paying its mana cost)
In terms of color pie, it would seem like this was white, but maybe not. A friend suggested changing the name to "Pitty" and making it black, but does it work? Are there any fatal flaws?

Adept (Spells and abilities that target only this creature can be played anytime a player could play an instant)
This one seems blue, but Im not 100% sure. My main concern with this one is because it is a little more powerful, would that warrent an increase in cost?

Counter Strike (If this creature blocks any creature with first strike or double strike, those creatures lose first strike and/or double strike until the end of the turn)
This could go white or green to me, but my big concern here is wording.

Im working on some other abilites too, but these are the ones I'm planning on for my current set. Let me know what you guys and gals think.

SP
~Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing's going to get better, it's not~

Fri, 2008-09-26 09:24
timboo1
timboo1's picture

Charity - I think thw wording is ok with this one, to me it could go white or black (maybe a white/black hybrid ability). I think it works, as long as it is on cards that could have an impact on the game while your on 2 or less, but nothing to powerful like "you win the game" effects.

Adept - I suspect the wording would now be, though i am not positive. - Spells and abilities that only target this creature can be played as though it had flash. Deffinatly a blue ability.
(Flash - This can be played any time a player could play an instant)

Counter strike - not to sure what could be done with this one...

Sat, 2008-09-27 13:23
Socks

Looks to me that counterstrike may be better done as "Whenever a creature with first strike or double strike blocks this creature, this creature gains the same one until end of turn."

Though I can only imagine how many rules problems that has.

Sat, 2008-09-27 16:13
Pichoro
Pichoro's picture

I'm not sure about color, but I don't think Counter strike has any rules issues. It just has to be worded correctly.

Counter strike (If this creature blocks a creature with first strike or double strike, that creatures loses those abilities until end of turn.)

Notice the capitalization chagne in "Counter strike". Second word is never caps in a keyword.

Mon, 2008-10-06 16:15
Vinyacoire
Vinyacoire's picture

Not sure if you're still after feedback, but Counter strike's wording is terrible. I would try something like:

Counter strike (Prevent all combat damage that would be dealt to this creature during the First strike Phase)

Sounds fine (though to have proper grammer, I believe it would be 'Spells and abilities that only target this creature' not 'Spells and abilities that target only this creature').

And with Charity/Pitty, I would probably name it Pitty so that it could be more multi-color friendly...

Mon, 2008-10-06 16:19
Idle Muse
Idle Muse's picture

There is no 'first strike phase', so how does that make it any better worded?

Formerly known as Lordpenguin.
Download DraftWithMSE to draft custom MSE sets!

Mon, 2008-10-06 16:22
Vinyacoire
Vinyacoire's picture

What's the 'phase' called?

EDIT - can someone look up the official wording of First strike for me? I can't load the main wizards page to navigate into it...

Mon, 2008-10-06 16:27
Idle Muse
Idle Muse's picture

I don't think there's a name for it. Perusing the comp rules tends to indicate that there are simply two combat damage steps if there are any first/double strikers involved.

Either way, wording it like that doesn't retain the original functionality of the card.

Formerly known as Lordpenguin.
Download DraftWithMSE to draft custom MSE sets!

Mon, 2008-10-06 16:32
Vinyacoire
Vinyacoire's picture

I'll check my 10th edition rules card w/ steps & phases tonight; I could swear there was something for that (maybe it's not an official step?)

But how does it not have the same funtionality?

Original: They lose their First strike shot, you have a chance to First strike them; both deal regular damage if possible.

My way: He utilizes his First strike dealing no damage, you have a chance to First strike; both deal regular damage if possible.

Same thing. Only difference is that mine doesn't hold perfectly true to the name, because you aren't receiving a 'strike' before you counter...

Mon, 2008-10-06 18:46
Idle Muse
Idle Muse's picture

Losing first strike doesn't mean they deal no damage, it just means they deal it in the normal combat damage step. Preventing the first strike combat step from happening will mean that no damage is dealt. The effect is the same in the case of double strike, but not first strike.

Formerly known as Lordpenguin.
Download DraftWithMSE to draft custom MSE sets!

Tue, 2008-10-07 20:47
Vinyacoire
Vinyacoire's picture

True; a very minor difference, but you are right nonetheless.

I'm still curious about the 'first strike phase' though. As I said, I can't load the main Wizards page to navigate into the rules, but I did happen to find this:

wikipedia wrote:
Double strike allows a creature to deal damage twice, once during the first strike damage step and once during the regular damage step. If an attacker with double strike kills all its blockers with first strike damage, it does not get to deal regular damage to the defending player unless it has another ability that allows it to do so (such as Trample). Double strike overrides first strike, and having multiple instances of either has no additional effect. A creature with first strike twice still deals damage at the same time as a creature that only has the ability once.
Any idea if it's in the comprehensive rules too??

Tue, 2008-10-07 21:33
monkeychewtoy
monkeychewtoy's picture

Here's what I believe to be the relevant rule:

Comprehensive Rules wrote:
310.5. At the start of the combat damage step, if at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 502.2) or double strike (see rule 502.28), creatures without first strike or double strike don't assign combat damage. Instead of proceeding to end of combat, the phase gets a second combat damage step (see rule 310.1) to handle the remaining creatures. In the second combat damage step, any attackers and blockers that didn't assign combat damage in the first step, plus any creatures with double strike, assign their combat damage.
So no, there's nothing called a "first strike step." There is one, but it doesn't have a name.

Hope that answers your question. In other news, the Tenth Edition reminder text for first strike is simply, "(This creature deals combat damage before creatures without first strike.)"

I like the version of counter strike that says "Prevent all damage that would be dealt to this creature by creatures with first strike or double strike." But it doesn't really convey a counterstrike very well. So either the name needs to be changed, or another alternative should be explored.


September 21, 2007: Monkeychewtoy predicts monocolored hybrid cards, calls them "Ridiculous."

Tue, 2008-10-07 21:46
Vergalon
Vergalon's picture

How about:

'When a creature blocks or is blocked by this creature, it loses first strike and double strike until end of turn.'

it works because a creature can't lose an ability it doesn't have (see Invert the Skies)
you could also just get rid of the 'blocked or' part to make it just during blocking.

"There is a point in life where one must confront themselves and justify their existence."
-Traevus

Tue, 2008-10-07 22:01
Vinyacoire
Vinyacoire's picture

Thank you Monkey, that clears everything up; it also makes me want to create a Triple strike (or Quadruple stike, like someone did in the challenge game). But whatever; thanks again...

And Vergalon, I think you nailed the keyword's text! Sounds perfect.