Card of the Week Contest #171: Get out your photoshop!

Sat, 2017-06-10 16:26
Mahx Michael
Mahx Michael's picture

Does the split card function like fuse or split? (and/or)

Sat, 2017-06-10 18:18
Pixi-Rex's picture

@Mahx Michael: Its not a fuse card. You can only play one right or left side. You can then choose to pay the reshape cost. If so you get the transformed side next turn.

Edit: I was thinking why you asked. then I knew why. I have change my render now. Thanks for spotting that. Winking smiley

Sat, 2017-06-10 21:07
Mahx Michael
Mahx Michael's picture

Well done all of you A happy smile
Here is some feedback for you all. Quite a challenging challenge this time, not as many participants as usual. Not so shure what to add to all of your entries, but I'll give some response to each of them

Your mechanic is slightly confusing, but I believe people will figure it out as soon as it gets into play.

So, its just like a Shapeshifter with flash, except you can fetch it as an instant and cast it as an instant at the stack?

Excellent way of keeping track of shapeshifting entities that changes between multiple p/ts!

Good job! This way, you don't have to make it a transform card that has to be flipped at the beginning of every single turn! Thumbs up

Is this for stacking up mana for later spells?

I like this! But I still wonder how the squire works when not in Union.

Awesome card! And beautiful counter (not only because I made the template).

Good concept, but the white side is still 20 times better than the other.

Does the component leave the battlefield after it is used once, or can you use it multiple times? In any case, I think the first ability could cost 1 mana symbolRed mana symbol instead.

Is it only a new template? Is it locked specifically to cipher or any other characteristics of a card?

Interesting addition to the game. Another alternative to starting with the quest cards in the players playing deck is to let each player have a quest deck in addition to the normal deck. (Just like the g-units in Cardfight Vanguard.)

Yes, that's better! Well done A happy smile

I would also appreciate some feedback on my own entry. I have no clue how I'm doing so far.

Sat, 2017-06-10 22:16

@Pixi-Rex, maybe not important but the rules at the moment don't let the transformed side of a card on the stack. If that matters to you reshape could be phrased as.
"When this spells resolves, you may pay 2 mana symbolRed mana symbol. If you do exile it, at the beginning of you next upkeep return it to the battlefield transformed."
Also their should be a "gains" before haste.

New card game development, resource centre.
Put urls between a [img=375x523] and a [/img] to make them normal sized renders.

Sat, 2017-06-10 22:36
Pixi-Rex's picture

@bazzboda: Your wording would not let instants and sorceries be cast. The DF side can be all types of card types.
Im not good to rules, your wording seams just saying it another way.

1[When this spell resolves,] you may pay 2 mana symbolRed mana symbol.] 2[If you do exile it, at the beginning of you next upkeep] [3return it to the battlefield transformed.]

1[2R, Reshape: Exile it as it resolves.] 2[At the beginning of your next upkeep,] 3[cast this card transformed from exile.]

to me it the same you just have more words.

The "When this spell resolves" part just lets you pay the mana. You exile the card no matter what on both wordings if mana is payed. Its only the last part that need the right wording to make the design work.
If someone can word it right as short as possible so you can cast the card from exile transformed that would be great.

But thanks for spotting the "gains" i add the in.

Sat, 2017-06-10 23:14
Head Administrator
CanterburyEgg's picture

@Mahx: Squire would be a new permanent card type, that works similarly to other noncreature permanents in that it just sits on the battlefield. My plan would be to design each squire with an ability that only helped if it was united with a creature (first strike) and an ability that helped whether united or not (exalted).

Sat, 2017-06-10 23:41
Mahx Michael
Mahx Michael's picture

Ok, thats nice Thumbs up

Sun, 2017-06-11 00:22

Updated Entry

Sun, 2017-06-11 07:28

@Pixi-Rex, the reason I mention the onto the battlefield phrasing is at the moment magic's rules don't let transformed cards on the stack, thus why their are no transform cards where the back is an instant or sorcery. Its not a problem, I think that rule is odd.
The spell part is supported by rebound setting a precedent. Which happens to show their is no need for a when.Though I am wondering, but do you pay the reshape cost at the beginning like fuse card, or is it put in at the end of each halve? Partially why I suggest putting the cost after when ~ resolves.

Sadly I can't think of a way to shorten it besides getting rid of the, at the beginning of your upkeep part, in which case the exile is unimportant. With "When this spell resolves, you may pay 2 mana symbolRed mana symbol to return it to the stack transformed." being a valid phrasing if you ignore that strange stack rule. Which could actually let you have half of a card be a weak instant and the other half be a better sorcery and have the instant effectively grant flash to the transformed back.

New card game development, resource centre.
Put urls between a [img=375x523] and a [/img] to make them normal sized renders.

Sun, 2017-06-11 08:45
ThisisSakon's picture

The contest doesn't technically say you need to do anything new with the template....



The Festenya Masterpiece Template!*

*template is a concept and not an actual template

Sun, 2017-06-11 11:35
Pixi-Rex's picture

@bazzboda: The reshape cost, you choose to pay or not to pay when you cast the card. Like fx Kicker or Entwine. If no transform cards is an instant or sorcery yet or ever will be I can see why now.
So I think that I would keep reshape cost at the start of casting the spell, and then have "put onto the battlefield transformed." Then we should be OK I think. Winking smiley thanks for pointing it out. I have updated my render.

@ThisisSakon: I like the look of it. But maybe the text should be black instead of gray. for easier reading.

Sun, 2017-06-11 14:51
Cajun's picture

@Sakon: Awesome frame, but have to agree with the gray text, at least for the white plates, is pretty unreadable.

Cajun's Explorations - Cajun Style Templates - High Noon Reloaded

fluffyDeathbringer wrote:
I dunno, Cajun has a habit of doing Dubiously Working new rules stuff

Mon, 2017-06-12 11:45
Moderator Best Set of 2016
Daij_Djan's picture

This thread is now closed, the poll can be found here.

And here's the next challenge!