Card of the Week Contest #144: Go Big or Go Home

continued...
Sun, 2016-11-27 09:28
Pixi-Rex
Pixi-Rex's picture

@bazzboda: I not sure you are right on the reduced further. The way your worded "Displace" seems like its just like a Convoke cost. Its like if you return 3 creatures with Displace. The last one still pays for 3 mana symbol but it can only reduced 2 mana symbol so it does that. I would think that the way it is worded right now. I think it would be a good idea to put a limit on it, so you can only return X amount of creaturs.

Sun, 2016-11-27 10:17
bazzboda

@Pixi-Rex, I was at first a bit uncertian but I think it would work, bellow is mtg salvation's rulings on delve http://mtgsalvation.gamepedia.com/Delve

Salvations Rulings
Delve is a static ability that functions while the spell with delve is on the stack. “Delve” means “For each generic mana in this spell’s total cost, you may exile a card from your graveyard rather than pay that mana.” The delve ability isn’t an additional or alternative cost and applies only after the total cost of the spell with delve is determined.

The rules for delve have changed slightly since it was last in an expansion. Previously, delve reduced the cost to cast a spell. Under the current rules, you exile cards from your graveyard at the same time you pay the spell’s cost. Exiling a card this way is simply another way to pay that cost. [This is similar to the change made to convoke for the Magic 2015 Core Set.]

Delve doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost. For example, Dead Drop’s converted mana cost is 10 even if you exiled three cards to cast it.

You can’t exile cards to pay for the colored mana requirements of a spell with delve.

You can’t exile more cards than the generic mana requirement of a spell with delve. For example, you can’t exile more than nine cards from your graveyard to cast Dead Drop.

Because delve isn’t an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs.

If I understand this correctly with cost payment ability, when the mana it substitutes runs out the ability may no longer be used.

New card game development, resource centre.
Put mtg.design urls between a [img=375x523] and a [/img] to make them normal sized renders.

Sun, 2016-11-27 13:19
Pixi-Rex
Pixi-Rex's picture

@bazzboda: I'm not a rules expert, that means if I think I can play the card for Red mana symbolRed mana symbol manny others do as well. therefore it must be expressed more clear.

Sun, 2016-11-27 15:04
HaloSSB

Thanks, @bazzboda! I made the proper edits to my card.

Also, the Spurn of Reason should be able to create a bit more chaos. He feels much more like he just trades deployed permanents for hand advantage.

Sun, 2016-11-27 18:49
sdfkjgh
sdfkjgh's picture

Check out Hive block here.
Hey, check out my blog!

Sun, 2016-11-27 20:00
Pixi-Rex
Pixi-Rex's picture

@sdfkjgh: Affinity for nonland permanents is dangerous. green tokens really like this card. it can come ount pretty fast I think. but it don't have trample on its own so it can be chump blocked. I think its a design that appeal to many Timmy players. so its is alright.

Sun, 2016-11-27 20:02
mastersoard
mastersoard's picture

Huge mana costs always remind me of one thing: CASCADE

Spoiler:

Spoiler:

Mon, 2016-11-28 03:17
bioplay
bioplay's picture

@mastersoard: While I like the concept, I'm pretty sure that's a rare, just due to power level and complexity.
@bazzboda: Delve really isn't a good example here though, because each card exiled only pays for 1 mana symbol. Your card has each thing pay for 3 mana symbol. Personally, I agree with Pixi. Especially the way it is worded now. I think the fix here is probably to add the word "exactly", as in, "...pays for exactly 3 mana symbol." kinda like Dredge. If you have two cards in your library and a card with Dredge 3 in your graveyard, you can't Dredge it. Nevertheless, this might require some additional reminder text, and just the fact that it brings up controversy might mean the mechanic as it is now is ill-advised. Also, while this would still cost minimum Red mana symbolRed mana symbol, keep in mind that Gush sees play in Vintage and is banned from Legacy. Right now this guy looks like a 5/4 that can come out on turn two, plus card advantage. Some syntax things: "draw 2" should be "draw two", and I would suggest changing "Displace 3 mana symbol" to "Displace 3"--right now, it looks like a cost, like Kicker.

To those of you who remember me, I'm glad to be back.
To those of you who don't or never knew me, I welcome any new friends. A happy smile
-------------------------------
And I forgot how short these sig

Mon, 2016-11-28 04:35
Yoshi
Community Award
Yoshi's picture

Working on an alt-color pie at the moment. Check me out in forum games!
If you need help with a community project, just message me and I'll be glad to help.

I stand with the specimen.

Mon, 2016-11-28 06:12
bazzboda

@Pixi-Rex, @HaloSSB, and @bioplay, thank you for the information, I have done as suggested, sadly omitting further reminder text beyond the "exactly" addition.

render

New card game development, resource centre.
Put mtg.design urls between a [img=375x523] and a [/img] to make them normal sized renders.

Mon, 2016-11-28 13:10
Daij_Djan
Moderator Best Set of 2016
Daij_Djan's picture

This thread is now closed, the poll can be found here.

And here's the next challenge!

As Photobucket wants me to pay 400$/year to link to my images, I'll relocate all renders.